July 1st is Canada Day, Happy Canada Day everyone and here are some interesting facts about Canada

As you may know the 1st of July we celebrate Canada day.

150 years ago, Quebec, Ontario, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia – united to create the Canadian Confederation, called the Dominion of Canada. On account of the British North America Act that became law July 1st 1867, these British colonies would be recognized as an independent nation.

The name “Canada” likely comes from the Huron-Iroquois word “kanata,” meaning “village” or “settlement.” In 1535, two Aboriginal youths told French explorer Jacques Cartier about the route to kanata; they were actually referring to the village of Stadacona, the site of the present-day City of Québec.

Before 1867, Canada was made up of several independent British colonies that are now provinces: British Columbia, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick,Prince Edward Island. Back then, Ontario and Quebec were just one colony called the Province of Canada.

Please follow and like us: